Random Dress Wardrobe Facts

15 Mar

I have 30 dresses. Of those:

6 are for dancing.

12 I made myself.

16 I found in an op-shop, one of which  I totally refashioned; most I adjusted to fit better.

2 I bought new ($10 each).

6 are vintage or historical – a 1950’s frock, regency dress, Edwardian apron-turned-pinafore, pink lace and ruffles vintage-style, regency-style op-shop find, mod pinafore.

4 are work dresses.

2 are for properly cold weather so rarely see the light of day, another 3 are a bit hot most of the year but ok for the 3 weeks of cold in the dry season.

5 are pinafore-style dresses.

6 are scrumptiously soft lounge-around-the-house dresses.

2 I have never worn (one is a regency-style dress I have never found an appropriate event to wear it to. The other is a lounging dress I like but isn’t all that comfortable 😦 Everything else gets worn regularly.

I also have one silk dress that is gorgeous fabric but a bit small (another op-shop find) and I am currently trying to decide whether to try to make it bigger or just use the fabric in another project.

Combined with my coats, they take up aprox half my hanging space (!)

If I was going to go mad and do a wardrobe cull I would possibly get rid of 1 dance dress (a tad too big and the wrong colour for me. BUT colour doesn’t matter when the lights are low like in a milonga! And it is bias – and from Cue I do so love it!)

I would perhaps get rid of the oldest of my lounge dresses. And my oldest pinafore dress (except it is so old it is perfect for painting and other messy stuff like that.)

I have plans for another 3(!) dresses on the way – an old-fashioned shirt-waist dress, the swing-era dress and the walkaway dress

That’s it!

4 Responses to “Random Dress Wardrobe Facts”

  1. Luigi March 15, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Wow, That is a LOT of dresses. Mummy only has about 5 dresses. Maybe she needs more. 🙂

    Like

    • Tropical Threads March 15, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Hi Luigi! Only 5 dresses? Yep I reckon your mummy could do with lots more!

      I here you yourself like little jackets to keep you warm in winter. I bet you cut a dashing figure in them as you two walk down the street 🙂

      Like

  2. Myrhiann March 17, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Only 30??? Gee, you must have plenty of hanging space. How many tops and trousers do you have?

    Like

    • Tropical Threads March 19, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      Hi Josie!

      Yeah, only 30. Modest eh?

      Nope not much hanging space, just squashed. As for trousers and tops…. good question 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

