Crafting sewing storage while my machine is serviced

28 Mar

My baby is at the sewing machine dr. Nothing specifically wrong, it was just needing a really good service.

No sewing. I was going crazy with nothing to do with my hands. I didn’t even have any hand-sewing I needed to do.

However…

I need better storage for my collection of laces, ribbons, fancy elastic and trims. In their numerousness, they escaped their official storage box and are currently rioting loose in my sewing paraphernalia draw. Not good for them and not good for my temper.

I also realised if I got myself a hatbox for all my gorgeous hats, it would help with the terminal lack of storage space for my sewing stuff. Ok ok, how on earth did I justify that one? Weeeeell the hats are taking up space in another draw that would be idea for storing sewing. It is a big deep drawer that would easily hold everything I need for my current projects. I have room on a shelf in my wardrobe for a hat-box. Voila!

And then of course, I realised while I was about it, I should just do that jewellery box (A small wooden chest of 3 drawers) I have had on the crafting “to do” list for a million years.

Happily, Spotlight had a sale. Tragically it was the last of the folk-art paints that I have long loved. The new paints aren’t really equivalent replacement, if only because the colours just aren’t as inspiring. Of course I can mix my own colours, but it looks like the days are gone where I could walk in and spend a few $$ on a pot of paint in exactly the right colour are gone. Mixing paints can get expensive.

And they had the usual assortment of gorgeous papers.

And I still have plenty of Mod Podge left over from the previous decoupage project. I ❤ Mod Podge!

6 Responses to “Crafting sewing storage while my machine is serviced”

  1. Joanna March 29, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Hello! It’s cool to see the papers, they’re different than I imagined when we were talking about it. I didn’t realize the butterflies were quite so faint. That’s like more of a background element than a focal point.

    I used to use those folk-art paints a lot. It’s hard because the colours are already mixed, not like the pure pigments you get in artist-grade paints, so mixing them with each other can just end up with a muddy puddle.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads March 29, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      Hi Joanna,

      I cut the butterflies out, so they were the shape of butterflies with very faint markings for wings etc. That could be where I ran into trouble…! Maybe I should indeed have used them for the background.

      Hey! Don’t knock it! I have created some quite nice-coloured muddy puddles from mixing Folk Art paints! But yes, it is a lot easier getting it right with just pure pigments 🙂

      Like

  2. Donna March 29, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    I really like the paper you chose! But I can’t seem to see it finished in my mind so you’ll have to post another picture when it’s done.
    🙂

    Like

    • Tropical Threads March 29, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

      Weeeell I can’t really see it finished in my head either, which is a bit of a problem…

      Never mind I am sure I can work something out, and I will definitely show you when done!

      Like

  3. Myrhiann March 29, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    I’m looking forward to seeing the finished result.

    Like

Leave a Reply

