A dolly called Lollie

5 May

My mother and I made two “jemima dolls” recently, one for my 5yr old little girl and another for her cousin a few months younger.

My sister has a rag doll mum bought for her when she was two, at one of those impromptu fetes often held outside polling booths on election day. She’s similar to Jemima from the ABC’s children’s show Play School although a lot more worn and threadbare.

Portrait of Jemima

A few years ago my sister’s Jemima had a makeover by my mum, who redid her (sadly threadbare) hair and made her a new, very sweet, dress.

I was given my rag-doll, Lilly, when I was almost 7. Being  a bit older when I got her she’s fared a bit better. But recently she too got a new set of clothes – a pair of short pantaloons (Silk, from an offcut of some sewing project) edged in lace, and a short-sleeved dress, sprinkled with small flower-fairies of the Cicely Mary Barkervariety.

Michael Miller fabric Petite Fairies flower fairy

For my daughter and niece’s dollies, mum and I road-tested a number of patterns, some op-shop finds, some from online. We settled on one from the op-shop in a tattered plastic bag, obviously pulled out of a Golden Circle magazine. She was gorgeous! The only issue was her head didn’t stay upright, so we examined Lilly’s neck shape, realised it was very very wide, providing adequate support, and adjusted the design accordingly

I also showed my daughter a small selection of pretty floral fabrics, asking which ones she liked best.

“Why mummy? What are they for?”

“Oh,” I replied nonchalantly “I just thought you might like them.”

“Oh yes, mummy! I do!”

A few days later my daughter came across Lilly. She took one look at her, and eyes wide, her arms reached out for her.

“Oooh, Mummy!” She hugged Lilly close. I was startled by the pure instinct of her reaction. She tentatively asked “Can I have her?”

“Well, no, she is mine, you see. But you can cuddle her.”

A few days later, after numerous requests for her own “jemima doll” my fiance gave in, and explained Granny and mummy were making her a doll. “Remember the fabrics Mummy showed you? She wanted to know which you would like best for her dress.”

One happy little daughter 🙂

To me she asked “Mummy, what is her name?”

“I don’t know what her name is. Maybe you will have to ask her when you meet her.”

After a moment’s thought she said “Maybe it is Lollie.”

“Maybe it is.”

Once finished, I put the dolly on her pillow as she slept in the morning. When she woke she came racing out.

“Mummy! Mummy! Look!”

A dolly called Lollie

Then she paused, looking uncertain, “Is she your dollie, mummy?”

“No, she is yours! See, her dress is made of the orange fabric you liked so much.”

“Lollie has brown skin just like me!”

“Yes, Granny and I made her especially for you.”

And then … “Mummy, could you make her a pink dress too?”

😀

Here is my niece’s dolly too. Mum did the embroidered faces. I am allergic to that sort of thing 😛

There are a few subtle differences in eye colour and hair colour – and of course dress colour, to match the differences in the girl’s looks etc. My niece hasn’t got her dolly yet. I look forward to that moment 🙂

My niece’s dolly

11 Responses to “A dolly called Lollie”

  1. Luigi May 5, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Oh they are so cute!!!! I love their multi coloured dresses.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 6, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Yes, it was a great opportunity to play with all those gorgeous cotton quilting fabrics 🙂

      Like

  2. Pyraxis May 6, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    Heyyyy, she came out well! I like how both of the girls’ dolls match but they have subtle differences between them.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 6, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      Yes, when my sister-in-law saw these pictures she said the same, and that the girls will like that too. She reckons my niece will LOVE hers!

      Like

  3. Myrhiann May 6, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Both dollies are lovely. I look forward to hearing of your niece’s reaction when she is given hers.

    Like

  4. Tropical Threads May 6, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Thanks 🙂 Ok will do an update when I find out!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A wedding dress (my own) pt 1 « Tropical Threads - May 6, 2011

    […] It has the added bonus that the flower girls (my daughter and my niece, the new mothers of the jemima dolls) can be in the matching girl’s pattern. (I reckon I could also make two matching Flower Dolly […]

    Like

  2. Trans-tasman sign language - May 17, 2011

    […] daughter (S) is turning out to be a very good mother to her dolly, Lollie. This morning, after greeting her with a cry of delight and a big hug,  she looked at Lollie […]

    Like

  3. Lollie and the sip of water « Trans Tasman Sign Language - May 24, 2011

    […] daughter (S) is turning out to be a very good mother to her dolly, Lollie. This morning, after greeting her with a cry of delight and a big hug,  she looked at Lollie […]

    Like

  4. Pattern drafting dreams | Tropical Threads - March 8, 2013

    […] The most complicated bit would be the yoke and sleeve. Here is the pattern draft. It is only one size but I’m pretty confident in resizing things to fit my own sweet self’s body. These diagrams make perfect sense to me – presuming they’re in inches. In cms they might be a nice draft for a chemise for my daughter’s dolly […]

    Like

  5. More Burda 7109, in a slightly more orthodox form. | Tropical Threads - July 15, 2014

    […] The dolly is called Beckie, she’s a wood elf, and is the prototype for the pattern that mum and I used when making my daughter’s and niece’s dollies. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

