A wedding dress (my own) pt 1

6 May

I wonder how many posts I will get up to on my wedding dress by the time it is all over and done with?

Not to mention there are the bridesmaid’s dresses, the flower-girl dresses, and the page-boy outfits. And my fiancee has (I am shocked) graciously agreed to wear a shirt with some romantic-style ruffles and laces. Yes! I am making the most of this unusual agreeableness to non-Aussie-blokey Non-kiwi-blokey styling while I have it!

Speaking of my fiancee, he reads my blog. He has long been one of my closest fashion/sewing consultants. (“Yes, dear, it would look beautiful with that trim.” “Oh, well, dear, if you really love that fabric, you had better buy it then.” “Actually, you are right, dear, a sewing shed would be fantastic for you, of course we can get you one.” * )

In short it is all too hard to hide The Dress from him. After discussion we settled on me talking and sticking up pictures to my heart’s content, but I can’t let him see the final dress till our wedding day. No worries!

Enough of this talk. The pictures, the pictures!

My original dress idea: Vogue 2788

Such a gorgeous dress.

Ok, the Plans for this dress were: no train; the lovely little capped sleeves in chiffon; a chiffon overskirt edged in the same lace as the neckline, ruched up a few inches into scallops around the hem, the ruching fastened with little blue flowers.

There were two problems, namely that although I would wade in and make this dress with confidence, when I got the fabric I found the metres of slithery delicate satin silk terrifying slightly intimidating. In short, I doubted my technical ability to pull it off, and figure a dress this important reeeelly isn’t the time to extend myself too much. (I want to enjoy my wedding day, not be overwhelmingly frazzled by sewing-stress)

The other problem is, even with the modifications, this style just seemed a little too formal and sophisticated for my personality. (I do try to be relatively sensible and all-growed-up, but am not that great at it.)

One day I was checking out Sensibility.com (as you do ;-P) and realised she had finally finished this pattern for adult women. (She has long had a girl’s version).

It was an instantaneous and totally heartfelt decision. THIS is the dress I want. I ordered it within the hour. It has the added bonus that the flower girls (my daughter and my niece, the new mothers of the jemima dolls) can be in the matching girl’s pattern. (I reckon I could also make two matching Flower Dolly dresses too 😉

Btw, I recommend clicking on the photo which will take you to the website, where you can see some of the paintings that inspired these dresses. But for a sneak preview, this is my absolute fave 🙂

*This seemingly wonderful (if foolhardy) comment came about from a total mis-match of our concept of “sewing shed”. Mine was a huge, airconditioned, fully-powered shed with wide windows overlooking a gorgeous view, letting in lots of natural light; a soft-but-not-carpet floor covering so I wouldn’t lose pins but my feet wouldn’t get sore; floor to ceiling storage, and filled with every kind of machine and paraphernalia and cutting tables any seamstress could possibly want.

His version was one of those tiny little cupboard-style zincalume sheds you can stick the fertalizers and a few brooms in…

7 Responses to “A wedding dress (my own) pt 1”

  1. Myrhiann May 8, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    I had a giggle at the disparity between your imagined shed and the fiance’s. Perhaps you can meet halfway. I also had a lovely time scrolling through the pics on the Sensibility.com site. Thanks for the link.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 8, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      Weeeelll I could possibly forgo the gorgeous views, considering his back yard is small and surrounded by other units’ courtyards. There, that is a reasonable compromise, isn’t it? 😛

      Yes, those pictures are gorgeous, aren’t they? No wonder they inspired her to make a pattern based on them.

      Like

  2. Pyraxis May 8, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Oh I wish I had a studio like that shed! I’m always seeing designs for converted garages and such on architecture blogs… gorgeous views, big wide open space with a peaked roof, windows on all four sides. However I can see how that wouldn’t quite be what he envisioned! 😉

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 8, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

      Ooooh yes. Peaked roof and windows on all sides. Perfect!

      Hehe, yeah slight difference of definition of the word eh? But the place next door is for sale and he seems to think we should buy it, knock down the fence between the two yards into one huge one for the dogs and the kids we are apparently going to have hordes of, and I can have my sewing in one of the rooms there. And his fishing tackle etc in one of the other rooms there.

      Like

  3. pondhopper May 9, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    You know, your new dress almost doesn’t need any head covering at all. Just flowers would be delightful.
    🙂
    A sewing shed is a most wonderful idea!
    😀

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 9, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      Heh, true about the head covering. I can see I will just need to make the dress, or even a mock-up to practise the pattern, then try it on and see where I go from there. I was talking with a mutual friend of ours who loved the idea of a head-band affair, and offered to buy me the fabric for it as a wedding gift. Now that sounds so lovely. And with a headband I can put on it a certain flowery pearl brooch someone else has offered to give me for my wedding ;-P And some feathers. The idea of some really soft, pretty feathers just appeals to me…

      As for the sewing shed, oh yes! 😀

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Men’s costume/historical shirt pattern roundup, or: What he’s wearing to our wedding Pt 1 « Tropical Threads - May 13, 2011

    […] My darling fiance (aka DF)  felt left out from all the Wedding dress discussion and none of his Wedding shirt. Especially as he has agreed to wear a  ”girly” lacy, romantic shirt. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

