Wardrobe clearout and a possible new project.

9 Jun

I went through my wardrobe with a harsh eye this afternoon. I don’t mind stuff in there that I love but rarely get to wear. But things I am not wearing because they don’t work for some reason? They have to go!

Even if I do love them…

I remind myself it makes way for things I love AND work well.

One of the things that went is this skirt.

Another RTW skirt copy” src=”https://tropicalthreads.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/glassonsgreyskirtfront2.jpg?w=225″ alt=”” width=”225″ height=”300″ />

I commented in the original post that the fabric seemed too light for the style, and to be honest, I think that is why I rarely wear it. I feel a bit scruffy and under-groomed in it. I have quite a bit of the original fabric left over, so I will keep the skirt and see if I can create a new garment entirely, from both.

Another that went is a grey dress I found in an op-shop a while back. It was tight around the arms back then, but now, after a year’s worth of pilates, it pulls badly across the entire shoulder area 😦 It is a gorgeous dress, in very good condition. I am sure some other person will absolutely LOVE it.

A few of my own creations will simply be put away. I love them too much to send them off to the big wide world of op-shops.

This was made from Folkwear Edwardian Underthings pattern. (Notice I like blue roses?) I simplified the waist, and found the most awesome trim for it at Spotlight! But, though I have worn it a lot before, I have just kinda “gone off” it. Also I don’t have a top that does it justice, and am not sure what would. Time to put it away.

 

 

The awesome trim:

 

 

Another old favourite. The colour faded to an odd, and sadly unappealing neutraly colour. I was enchanted by the whole pixie movement in the UK, wanting to my own pixie top, tropical-style. This is what I came up with. I love it – so much so I wore it to colour-death 😦 I would dye it but the fabric is getting old. And I am not sure I would like the outcome of the trim being dyed either, whether it was dyed too, or stayed the same colour. RIP pixie top. You will be missed.

 

And now, for my next project…

I was cruising Ravelry the other day (as you do!) and saw some gorgeous crocheted boleros. I have been using this cardigan in our recent cold snap.

 

It is the perfect weight for the colder weather here. But … it’s too big! I knitted it when I was in my early 20’s, living in Auckland. I didn’t think I was that much bigger then, but I must have been! I have to roll the sleeves up a couple of turns, and it is huge round the torso.

I’d be more comfortable in one that fits! Maybe in crochet with a lacy look to it, as the looseness of this cardigan is probably why it isn’t too hot. I could soooo happily use some of those beautiful bamboo yarns. Mmmm!!!! I doubt I finish it this dry season, but I have realised it would also be the perfect weight for travelling when down south, as this cardigan is too.

And then in my inbox this afternoon I found this from Spotlight …

 

Methinks it may be Fate…

4 Responses to “Wardrobe clearout and a possible new project.”

  1. Myrhiann June 10, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    Having a cleanout is good, when it makes way for new and lovely garnents.

    Like

  2. Carolyn June 14, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I agree, cleaning out is good for the soul. And if it frees up a few hangers that will then need filling with new things, so much the better!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A few butterflies « Tropical Threads - June 17, 2011

    […] I did my recent wardrobe cleanout I discarded the skirt part of this ensemble. The top (Burda 2964, my review here) is lovely, but […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

