A few butterflies

17 Jun

I had one of those days mice and men often have, where nothing goes right. Not that much went wrong either, I just didn’t achieve anything I set out to today. I came home and sulked for half an hour then hit the cutting table. And the ironing board. And the sewing machine. And the overlocker.

Oh I feel so much better!

Butterflies:

I saw some gorgeous huge sorta retro-style butterfly craft fabric at Spotlight the other day. I had to get some. But of course, as I have my no-fabric-buying moratorium until September (so tedious…) I can’t buy fabric for new projects, only to complete existing ones in some way (embellishments included).

So, I thought, what can I use this on as an embellishment? (Ahem, working backwards like that really wasn’t what I had in mind when I made my moratorium…)

When I did my recent wardrobe cleanout I discarded the skirt part of this ensemble. The top (Burda 2964, my review here) is lovely, but for some reason I just never liked the skirt, in spite of asking trusted friends what they thought of it, and being reassured it looks great.

 

Anyway, the skirt was pulled out of the “to go to op-shop” bag, and is no longer as pictured, at all. It has a big retro-style butterfly appliqued on it! I also added a triangular piece of the original fabric leftover to the hem at the higher part, making the hemline more interesting.

It looks fantastic!!! Huh! Sooooo pleased with it!

I plan to put add a little ruffle along the hem too. I think part of the issue with the skirt was the same as this skirt that I also discarded. The fabric is just too light for the straight style of skirt. A ruffle will give it a bit of weight, helping it to hang that bit better and add a bit of visual weight to the hem too. (She hopes ;-P)

More butterflies:

The butterflies were part of a quilting panel. Spotlight wouldn’t let me buy just one strip of it – I had to buy the entire panel with 4 big butterflies on it. Oh dear! What on earth could I do with all those extra butterflies?

Well, my sister-in-law is getting a new skirt based on Kwik sew 2765, an ancient copy I picked up at an op-shop long ago and quickly became TNT. I am happily using up some gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous kingfisher blue cotton poplin from my stash, as well as a spare butterfly.

Plus, as she is in the Southern Highlands of NSW and it is the middle of winter, the cotton poplin seems insanely thin, so I am also using up a bit more of my stash in making her a petticoat. I would say more, but she has been known to read this blog, and I am looking forward to surprising her with it. So no photos yet (besides it was well and truly dark by the time I called it a night on my projects).

Yes, in the was all satisfyingly productive.

Now a lazy half hour in front of the telly with my new yarn and cardigan pattern seems a great way to end the day.

Leave a Reply

