Cardigan shoulders

28 Jun

Ok, so it looks a bit wonky, but that is just how it was sitting. Honest! But no, it really doesn’t quite meet at the front. Oops…

But if you look at the back, you discover it is sitting very nicely.

I started out doing the medium size, then discovered the back was swimming on me, so I undid the previous few rows of increase and basically went down 2 sizes at the back, while keeping the increasing at the front. Hate to think how small the front would be if I hadn’t kept the increasing there!

The front still has a bit of an edging to be added after everything else is finished. I’m not sure if allowing for that is why the cardigan isn’t meeting in the front, or if it is just a tad small there after all my fiddling. I figure if need be I can make that front edging a bit wider. I am planning to continue the edging around the neckline too, as I would like it a closer in around my neck.

I love love love the colour! And the yarn is so soft and slithery to crochet. It is also not hot to handle (which is good as the humidity went right up for a few days there) but obviously is still going to be suitably warmish when finished.

I have one row of dc, then I am onto the mussel pattern. Wow!

And for the record I have no idea why one piccie is huge and the other is small … ?

4 Responses to “Cardigan shoulders”

  1. Myrhiann June 30, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    The cardigan is looking good, and the colour is lovely. It really suits you.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads June 30, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      Hi Josie,

      yes I am really pleased with the colour, that is for sure. And the cardigan itself seems to be shaping up nicely. This is my first attempt at any garment bigger and more complicated than a beanie in crochet so I have been a bit apprehensive.

      Like

  2. Laura Rittenhouse July 2, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Hmmmm – I find this fascinating. I have done very little crocheting but some knitting and it doesn’t matter what I do, things don’t end up even. It’s one of those mysteries of life. Luckily most things like this can stand with a bit of poking and proding to try to encourage the right shape. I’ll be ineterested to see how it progresses.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads July 2, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Poking and prodding is definitely an important part of crochet. Well, mine, at anyrate ;-P

      I am really enjoying it! lots of fun, slightly challenging and very relaxing. At the rate I am going, if I get a usable cardigan from it at the end, it will just be a nice bonus.

      Like

Leave a Reply

