Fitting armscyes

13 Jul

Last night I couldn’t sleep. I found this article in threads on fitting the armscye (and the rest of the top part of the bodice) properly, and read that instead of staring at the ceiling. I thought “Aha! so maybe that is where I didn’t quite get the fit of the sleeves right on Weaver’s dress. What it says makes sense to me as the bestest fit of a very fitted sleeve I’ve ever made, was in this dress Simplicity 9891. I basically redid the armscye along the lines explained here – I just didn’t know what I was doing back then, so it was a fluke and I was never sure why it worked. (Haha I look so young in that photo. It was taken only 5 yrs ago though! Maybe it is the haircut, or my cheeks have thinned since then?)

In my current dress project (simplicity 3559), it just so happens that I’m up to fitting the bodice and armscye, so I am using the info in the article to fit them. I have my fingers crossed for the outcome.

I’m making the middle view (though with short sleeves), made from these two fabrics. So far it is looking really good!

4 Responses to “Fitting armscyes”

  1. Myrhiann July 14, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Goodness, you look different in that photo. I think your face is thinner now. That dress would be nice to wear, with the fullness of the skirt, but not in windy Wellington or Hobart. Going back now to read about the armscye, which is something I have never heard of.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads July 14, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      yep I do, don’t I! It was before I lost all the weight from being ill, then putting it back again as I got healthy. Somewhere along the lines my body forgot to put the weight back onto my face…?

      It was a lovely dress, and I got a lot of complements, but I never wore it much as such, so I chopped it off, turned it into a top and promptly wore it to death. I loved it! Darwin can get a bit windy too (not just in cyclones ;-P) so that kind of skirt is ok some days and a total pain on other days. Touch and go!

      Yep, really interesting about the armscye!

      Like

  2. Myrhiann July 14, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    I’m looking forward to seeing the progress of the green dress. It should be very attractive when finished.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads July 14, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

      Yes! It is looking good. Should take a photo at the stage it is now, just for the record, I think 🙂 I also think it will look good with a belt out of the same fabric as for the trim. A different look, but still quite attractive 🙂 And I have some burgundy sandals that are crying out to be paired with that green!

      Like

Leave a Reply

