Myers changing-room

8 Sep

Not much sewing round here, just holidaying in Fremantle! Of course, the small town girl had to hit the big city shops and try on lots of clothes to get ideas for sewing projects.

The colour piecing on this dress was very effective. The colour suited me well. I loved it! My fiancé (poor guy, back home in Darwin, still at work, being sent holiday photos like this from his beloved!) was making noises about buying it for me.

But sadly I am such a clothes snob and this dress had some terrible flaws when on me. There is no way I would let him buy me a dress that is just too BIG in style and line (it wasn’t from the petite range. The petite range was pretty uninspiring) and too long for pleasing proportions on me. And … the real killer, it wouldn’t be that hard for me to make myself if I really wanted to. (My fiancé is very used to this kind of reaction 😀 and just chuckled 🙂

This was a one-piece dress with this cute little peplum set in around the waist. Nice. I did actually need some work clothes. If only I was into buying rtw clothes new, this may well have come home with me.

Not so cute coz it didn’t fit right. (It was waaaay too long in the back-waist. I am sadly short.) Nice styling in a fairly boring way. Ok for work … in a boring way.

I thought this one might be nice for a day out in Darwin. I love this style of skirt on a dress, and have been eyeing off patterns like this for ages, so I was glad to take the opportunity to try it on.

Sadly, I am not convinced it looks all that good on me. I could be wrong, I could be being old-fashioned and have my Granny’s “that makes your hips look broad” ringing in my head. (Ok I definitely need to get rid of that comment. She said mostly of loving, positive things, I would rather remember those instead.) I was also disappointed in the colour – it didn’t look as good on me as I thought it ought to! Not sure if it was the lighting, which can be deceiving, or if it was just that bit too yellow in undertone for my cool colouring 😦

Lovely back hem details on an otherwise straight skirt.

I did a lot more than window shopping. Here is the proof!

I had to find room for all of these in my suitcase on the way home! From left to right: My trusty slippers;  Blue velvet mary janes (that pack beautifully flat); Purple shoes handmade in Bulgaria! Nuff said? (from a boutique shoe shop in Perth);  Blue Naot sandals (from an old-fashioned shoe shop in Freo); Every dancer needs a pair of red shoes! (from an op-shop in Freo); My trusty Cherry Docs (my travel-shoe wardrobe basics); Hiking boots.

My old pair of hiking boots died tragically 3 months ago, and it is hard to find such things in Darwin, so when I saw these lovely boots on special, I nabbed them immediately. I’m hoping to try them out next weekend!

I also ended up in a couple of op-shops in Freo, and found all sorts of clothes, including some much-needed workwear 🙂 Op shops are just much more fun than stuffy, conventional big name shops…

Last but not least, why I didn’t spend that much time in the big city shops after all:

4 Responses to “Myers changing-room”

  1. Josie Brady September 9, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    The first dress was lovely, but too big altogether. I like the floral dress but agree it wasn’t quite right. But Oh! What an Ali Baba’s cave of gorgeous footwear. At least your feet will be well dressed, and clothes you make are so much better than RTW.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 9, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      Yes, it was a good thing to do, but nothing inspired me to buy it, or let Alex buy it for me 😛
      Speaking of the floral dress, did you think the skirt style itself looked ok? I do like it!

      Like

  2. Josie Brady September 9, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    PS Why would you go shopping when you can go to the beach!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 9, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      Indeed!

      And I know for a fact at least part of why I bought so many clothes in the op-shops is that they were on the path back from the beach 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

