Inky blue silk mini-bloomers (Colette’s Madeleine mini bloomers)

22 Jan

Haha! My first dot-point post.

  • Inky Blue Silk Mini-bloomers (completed early Jan 2012)
  • Fabric/trims/notions used
Blue sari silk. A word on this: the sari was from ebay, sold as “good for home decor or clothes sewing” I LOVED the colour. 5m of Inky blue sari silk with think border edges woven in gold, and blue silk. Can it get much better?
Well, when I got it, It sure as hell wasn’t 5m. More like 4.5. I complained to the seller, whose only response was “Saris are 5m long. Saris are 5m long.” I do wonder if he (an Indian) had gotten 5 yards mixed up with 5m? That is the charitable conclusion, anyway.
I washed it by hand (can’t afford dry-cleaning, thanks… and it certainly didn’t come with a dry-clean only tag) the gorgeous gold woven edgings shrunk dreadfully. Completely useless for my envisioned loose long trousers with the border along the hem. Plus a few other garments, as 5m is quite a lot.
I cut the badly stuffed up edging off and threw the rest (plain blue silk) in the back of the cupboard. That was 5 yrs ago. It took all that time, plus the inspiration of this pattern, to pull it out and try to salvage something out of it.
A bit of elastic and a bit of thread.
  • Piccie of finished garment
  • Inspiration (for the garment)
All the other blogs out there! And they look so cute…
  • Useful info
I ended up choosing the sizing on the waist measurement, making sure it was big enough to go over my hips comfortably, but no bigger.
Other bloggers had noted it the bloomers are extremely low-slung. So I added an extra 3 cm to the top of them, so they wouldn’t be quite so low-rise. However when I put them on I realised I am far more used to low-slung undies than perhaps other bloggers and would have been totally ok with the original pattern designed.
The double elastic affair on the waistband is Good! It makes them sit a lot more firmly than a single row, but still retains the light airiness of thinner elastic (as opposed to one row of thicker elastic). I’ve used this technique on a pair of elastic-waist shorts
I also used elastic in the legs, for comfort, and it looked a darn sight (now, is that sight or site???) easier than their technique
This is a very nicely drafted pattern. Everything matches up, and taking into account the wide difference between their model’s figure and mine, looks just as pictured. As an introduction to Colette patterns, as it was for me, I certainly wouldn’t hesitate to try one of their other non-free patterns if the inspiration hit me.
  • Cost
Pattern: free. Thanks Colette people!!!

Fabric: OUCH!!! the sari was $50 plus $6 postage. OUCH!!!

Elastic and thread from stash.

  • Last word

These are really comfy under a loose dress or skirt. It is surprisingly comfy under trousers too. Sari silk is perfect for it. Oh and my sister-in-law has a pair and loves them too!

6 Responses to “Inky blue silk mini-bloomers (Colette’s Madeleine mini bloomers)”

  1. Bernice January 22, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Very cute. Love the colour. Im sure you’ll find lots of uses for your silk. You could always make the trousers and add your own trim.

    Like

  2. Josie Brady January 23, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    They turned out well. Perhaps the silk should have been washed in cold water, and that is why the ornamental edging shrunk. I use shampoo to wash silk, since silk is a natural fibre similar to hair. Seems to work OK. I will be interested to see what the next garment made from the silk will be. $50 for 5 metres (yards) of good quality silk is very cheap, even 5 years ago.

    Like

  3. Carolyn January 23, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    These are adorable! And I agree with Bernice, the silk wasn’t that expensive and you still have heaps left! What will you make of the rest?
    And, in answer to your comment, if it was me I would add the cost of the entire dress pattern to your ledger, even though you have only used the sleeves you still had to buy it, right? Good luck! and I am going to be still doing my accounting too, but maybe just publish it once a month… It will be interesting to see how it pans out for you too!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rose-pink bloomers or: I go all whimsical again « Tropical Threads - June 30, 2012

    […] on this, I would love to hear! I used the double-elastic waistband technique described for the Madeleine Mini Bloomers by Colette. Instead of using one wider width of elastic, you use two rows of narrower elastic. In […]

    Like

  2. Bloomer love « Tropical Threads - October 7, 2012

    […] moment I made up my Madeleine mini-bloomers I could see my sister loving them too. I mentioned this to my mother. Her reaction was “Oh I […]

    Like

  3. Simplicity 9769, or: the unauthentically silk chemise | Tropical Threads - July 22, 2013

    […] And as a finishing touch, I made her some satin-silk bloomers from the colette madaleine mini bloomers pattern, previously made and blogged about here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

