Fix-it Friday: Silky dress-thing rescue

9 Mar

An Op-shop find from November 2010: a pink, black and grey pure silk dress or tunic or what-have-you. Sadly it didn’t fit over my thighs, though it fit everywhere else.

I chopped the offending too-skinny length of skirt off and used it to make a belt. The end result:
  • Fabric/trims/notions used
A bit of thread from my stash
  • Useful info
The yoke front and back were exactly the same, which would usually never work on me, but the soft drape and the belt made it all work together.
  • Cost
$5 from an op-shop in Kings Cross in Sydney. (That was a fantastic little op-shop!)
  • Last word

Sadly, I wore it to death, as it was such a wonderful top. It was retired a month or so ago. RIP dear pinky-black silk top thingy. I am glad we had that time together…

But on a much happier note, I was at my fave sewing-pattern-selling op-shop (For some reason this op-shop usually has a great collection of patterns, new ones coming in all the time) and found …

Not bad eh? not a bad match at all! So if I ever want to make another one, I can.

And just for the fun of it, here are all the other Butterick 4631 sewing patterns I found out there in internet-land. (Click on the pattern images to take you to their website)

And my favourite:

4 Responses to “Fix-it Friday: Silky dress-thing rescue”

  1. Josie Brady March 10, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I remember that op shop too. It turned out to be an absolute cornucopia of goodies for you. Your treatment of that top worked really well.

    I made a dress similar to that bottom pattern many years ago. I like the pattern above it too. The sleeve treatment is interesting, and the jacket is nice.

    Like

  2. Phil Hore September 30, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Looks great, well done…can I get one in mauve? 😛

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 30, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

      Look I’ll do you mauve if you really insist, but you know how much better you look in hot pink.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pattern love (2) « Tropical Threads - November 10, 2012

    […] really like the tie-waist of the Folkwear pattern, as with this top, I discovered I like wearing looser-style shirts tied at the waist, so I figured if I used the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

