Simplicity 8473 or: Schoolhouse tunic-inspired dresses

11 Jun
Heh, you can see the butterfly and flower decals on my mirror quite clearly. Oh wait, the picture is supposed to be of the dress/tunic, though!
Sadly I don’t seem to have a decent photo of the back view. Oh well.
  • Simplicity 8473
  • Fabric/trims/notions used
A zip on the beige/white dress, at the front bodice.
Polyester cotton.
  • Inspiration for the garment
I’ve long liked the look of Sew Liberated’s Schoolhouse Tunic (click on the picture to take you to Sew Liberated’s website) However I never got round to buying it. Then one day it occurred to me I had a fairly similar pattern. Since I am very good at buying lots of patterns that are all similar, I thought I’d go out on a limb and stick with the one I had, and tweak it.
I think I did pretty well with my shorter version of the Simplicity pattern. Mine is more inny and outy, but since a common comment I read in reviews of the schoolhouse tunic was that it was rather shapeless, I think it is probably an improvement. The shaping in my version comes from a back tie, so if I’m feeling more shapeless I can tie it looser!
I added in a zip for the front bodice so I had the choice of wearing it open over something (which would make two layers of clothing so ain’t gonna happen very often, believe me! Too too hot.) or closed if that is the only layer.
The red dress ended up a lot longer, and was so beautiful that way I left it – the picture here doesn’t capture the elegance of the dress too well. But then later decided I was bored to tears with that length so shortened it to just above the knee. I’ve got so many dresses with that longer line, probably because they suit me. I just wanted a change. Still looks fine!
I used the cap sleeve from New Look 6824 again. I’ve only used that sleeve piece from that pattern, haven’t touched the rest, but it has well and truly paid for itself already!
  • Useful info
 Only that Simplicity 8473 is a lovely lovely pattern.
  • Cost
 Uh, I honestly can’t remember! I know it is craft cotton from Spotlight in one of their many many sales. I was pretty happy to get the fabric for the price I did.
Ok so that isn’t too helpful, but the best I can do!
  • Last word

This is the second and third times I’ve made this pattern. The first was years and years ago, and the pattern lived up to the fond memories I have from that first dress. It is very simple to make, and easy to tweak, but has “good bones”. The neckline is just lovely too.
I’ve surprised myself how much I wear the tunic-length dress, with 3/4 leggings. Very comfortable and cool, and it looks nice. I also wear it without the leggings too quite a lot when I want even cooler clothes.
The red dress is much more in my usual line of dress. Nice, looks good, colour suits me perfectly, comfortable, easy to wear, works with all my accessories. Can’t ask for much more than that!
2 Responses to “Simplicity 8473 or: Schoolhouse tunic-inspired dresses”

  1. Josie Brady June 11, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Both versions turned out well.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads June 11, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      Hey that was quick!

      Yes, both are great additions to my already very extensive dress wardrobe 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

