Tropical dreams inspired by Folkwear’s Beautiful Dreamer nightgown

26 Sep

Nightie from McCalls 8108

McCalls 8108 1 hour dresses

  • Fabric/trims/notions used
Fabric is a quite finely woven cotton from Lincraft in Brisbane over a decade ago. Thus proving that yes indeed I do use almost all the fabric in my stash … eventually.
1 inch wide white cotton batiste and embroidery lace, and a turquoise trim (polyester) from Spotlight
  • Inspiration
I’ve been in love with Folkwear’s Beautiful Dreamer for ages, (Of which I have the adult version of the children’s one pictured below) but the whole thing is just too heavy and hot for tropical nights. So I got my TNT McCalls 1 hour (in their dreams, more like 4-5 hr) pattern, and went to town with pintucks, lace and woven trim.
Here’s a close-up of some of the detailing
  • Useful info
I did the pintucks the traditional (?) way of folding over the fabric where I wanted the pintuck and sewing in a millimetre or two from the edge. I lost count of how many pintucks I did. In addition to the ones pictured on the front and sleeve, I did ones on the back, and around the bottom ruffle as well. I was driven completely barmy by them. So much so that when I next went into Spotlight and saw some soft white cotton voile with pintucks already sewn into it, I bought 3m on the spot. My slightly crazed justification was “So I’ll never have to sew another pintuck!!!”
  • Construction notes

I cut the fabric into two big pieces, one for the front, one for the back. I then measured carefully where I wanted the pintucks to sit across my shoulders, and how deep I wanted them to go. I did the same for the back, but since they were in the centre it was a lot easier to work out what do to with them.

Next I did the pintucks on each piece, ironing the fold first on the ironing board where it was easier to measure them all up accurately, then stitching them. Then I cut the pattern out from the big pieces. With the side seam I just pushed all the extra fullness from the pintucks into the centre fold, so I was essentially cutting the same pattern, but just wider by the amount I’d used in the pintucks. Because the pattern is so simple it worked really well.

I also kept the side bust dart in the pattern, mainly because I am noticeably fuller in the front than back. A combination of a c-cup front and a very flat, short back means that I do need proper shaping in the front. Otherwise the fabric pulls up and sits out at the front, looking awful and feeling uncomfortable. I know it is a nightie and all, but I wanted one that looked pretty and felt pretty, not one that was a compromise.

For the ruffle pintucks I cut the ruffle the required length (For ruffles I generally use a length that is half again of the thing I’m gathering onto. So in this case, the nightie hem was 2m wide, I made the ruffle 3m wide.) I sewed the pieces together with a flat-felled seam, making sure I was creating a circle, not twisting the pieces into a figure 8! Next, I sewed the pintucks. 5 of them x 3m ruffle. O_o

  • Cost
Uh, uh… if you’ve had the fabric for so long you’ve forgotten how much it cost does that mean it is free?
Trims $6 total
Pattern: $0. This was the 6th or 7th use?
Impulse purchase of ready-pintucked cotton from Spotlight $30. (I know I know…*sheepish*)
  • Last word

This fabric gets softer and softer each wash. A very nice trait in a nightie! And I feel so romantic and delightful in my lovely nightie 🙂 It is comfortable to sleep in, and nice to waft round the house in when awake!

3 Responses to “Tropical dreams inspired by Folkwear’s Beautiful Dreamer nightgown”

  1. Josie Brady September 26, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    As usual you have excelled. It looks lovely and must be sooo comfortable to sleep in.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 26, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      Why thank you! *proudly takes a bow* Yes very nice to sleep in 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simplicity 9769, or: the unauthentically silk chemise | Tropical Threads - July 22, 2013

    […] flat-felled all the seams, as I’ve found on my own  nighties that’s the most comfortable kind of seam to lie on. As all the seams in this […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

