100 things challenge – sewing patterns I love #1

2 Nov

Over at Livejournal many of them are having fun doing a 100 posts on things of your choice challenge. 100 books or 100 movies or whatever. I heard of this and immediately thought “What fun! I could so easily write about 100 sewing patterns I love!”

I think I’m gonna do it too. Why not? No idea how long it will take me, especially as I’m going to try sorting out my pattern reviews so they are on this blog as well, (unless someone has worked out how to do a patternreview.com widget for wordpress by now?) so my blog might be flooded with pattern review posts for a while. But I’m figuring with this 100 things challenge, like so much in sewing, it’s the journey, not the destination that is the point.

Well, let’s start with the one that has been hanging round the kitchen bench cutting table for the past month or so, McCalls 4664:

The trousers! I’ve actually never sewn any of the other views but I think I’m up to 10 versions of the trousers.

Why do I love this pattern so much?

  • Takes 10 mins max to cut out.
  • Takes half an hour to sew up now I’ve got it all worked out.
  • As flattering as that kind of garment that clings round the hips/thighs is ever going to be.
  • I’ve made it in a nice thick cotton/lycra knit, two stretch-wovens, a really flowing knit. All it takes to make it softer and more flowing (and mor flattering!) is just add extra to the side seam. So easy! I’ve also made two pairs of jammie trousers from it. One short, one long and warm for travel, both very nice to lounge round in or sleep in.
  • It’s seen me through a good couple of sizes of weight changes up and down – same as above, simply adjusting the side seams works, I don’t need to redo the crotch-line or inner-leg seams. It’s kind of bullet-proof.
  • I’ve made a really nice straight-leg palazzo-trouser out of the pattern, very practical pilates trousers, simple black shorts (stretch-woven) to wear under flippy dance skirts, as well as (again stretch-woven) a basic grey simple pair of forgettable trousers, that lends itself to beautiful tops that you notice more because of the forgettableness of the trousers.

Piccies? Lemme see…

The Forgettable Trousers (which I’m actually wearing today. So comfy!) See what I mean? Do you see the trousers in this piccie or the gorgeous top? (Click on the link to take you to the blog post)

The travel jammies trousers. (I don’t have the piccie when completely finished, but that purple trim across the shoulder of the top ended up sewn along the neckline, hem of sleeve and hem of the top, and the hem of the trousers. So cute! (Click on the link to take you to the blog post).

2 Responses to “100 things challenge – sewing patterns I love #1”

  1. Amanda November 4, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    I love it when a pattern is so epically right for you that it can be pulled together in no time flat because it works! I’m rather keen to have a look for this one now- those pants look super comfy!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

