I wish…

25 Feb

I didn’t get a chance to do the whole “new year, what am I gonna make of it” (no pun intended 🙂 post. Real Life took over. I really thing Real Life ought to be banned from taking over Online Life. I’m trying to get back into the swing of blogging, with a goal of one blog post a week at least.

Anyway I was going through my stash looking for a particular fabric. White broadcloth. I have a separate stash of white fabrics like muslin and japarra (Weirdly good as a sew-in interfacing) and I thought the white broadcloth was with them. It wasn’t, but in looking for it, I came across a UFO that I honestly think is going to forever be a UFO. And I just thought wistfully  “I so wish I could just throw out the things I’ve sewn that were mistakes, or don’t fit into my lifestyle or just never quite worked as well as I want to.”

I tend to hold onto that kinda stuff in the hopes that I’ll refashion them into something that does work. Sometimes I do. Sometimes quite spectacularly well. For eg this skirt here just didn’t work too well in its original incarnation but I turned it into something that though I don’t wear it very often, certainly works in my wardrobe, looks good and makes me feel good when wearing it. Win! But there are other things like the UFO I saw today, that just won’t. Or I’m so totally OVER I don’t want to.

I have to explain what this UFO is. It’s a pinky-lilac silk dupion skirt and top from this pattern here (The outfit on the right):

 

A friend was getting married at 11am on the foreshore overlooking the sea. Beautiful location! Imagine that pathway is actually grass (Like it is further along where the ceremony took place.) Nice place to get married huh? (That path is so beautiful to ride along, for the record! One of my fave haunts.)

In addition to making my own outfit out of very expensive silk dupion, I was doing a few adjustments to the bridesmaids’ outfits. My friend had ordered them when they were down south and the hems of some of them weren’t quite the right height, so she asked me if I could take them up. They were polyester and if you’ve read much of this blog you’ll probably have noticed I mostly sew natural fibres. So there I was, about to press one of the hems and I forgot my iron was on the cotton setting. I burned a huge hole in the front of the $900 bridesmaid dress 3 days out from the wedding. Oh. My. God.

I ran into the bedroom and literally curled up on the floor in the corner and cried and shook and basically had a little nervous breakdown. Then I called my mum. (I’ve told her she’s not allowed to grow old and die, coz I don’t know what I’d do without her!)

Mum dropping everything straight away and came to the rescue. See why I don’t want to live without her in my life? She’s awesome! And she was even more awesome coz she found a fix for it. The dresses had a sort of mock-wrap-around front that curved up to the waist. I’d burnt a bit of that about 4 inches in. Mum said “You could just adjust that curve, cutting out the burnt bit, and it wouldn’t look too different from the others.”

I’d rung the bride too, and Confessed All. She was so totally over the whole wedding preps she said she just didn’t care, it was fine. And she came over to see what could be done. But by the time she arrived mum had already worked out what I could do. And in the end, especially because all three bridesmaids, though wearing the same style of dress, were all very different body types and heights, you could only see it looked a bit different if you already knew it had happened.

Oddly enough I never got my own outfit finished, and it’s still sitting there in all of its $80 worth of silk dupion glory, unfinished. And since I was still quite ill in those days and skinnier, it’s probably too tight on me now too.

For the record, it would be around a size 10 Australian. Anyone thinks they could do something with it, please comment and let me know. I’d be very happy to send it on its way to a better life than I’m giving it at the moment.

Hmmm. That last sentence might describe why I hang on to things so much. I feel for them. I’m anthropomophising my sewing projects! The point of the whole post was just a wish that I could let these things go more easily. In fact that is kind of like one of my new years resolutions I made about sewing. That I wouldn’t sew stuff I didn’t like sewing, like yoga pants for pilates in fabrics that don’t last very long because that is all I can get. Go buy a pair from K-mart already!!! If I don’t like sewing it, it becomes a chore and I love sewing too much to do that to it.

Maybe I need to make another new years resolution (or this could be a birthday resolution, a present to myself, seeing how my birthday is saturday!) If something just isn’t working or isn’t really getting finished coz I’ve lost enthusiasm for it, no matter how much work I put into it and no matter how much the fabric cost, then let it go.

10 Responses to “I wish…”

  1. Amanda February 25, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    Oh no! What terrible luck 😦 So glad you could fix this 🙂 Are you able to let the seams out o the silk pieces at all?

    Like

    • Tropical Threads February 26, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

      It was a pretty awful experience! I’m so glad mum was able to come to the rescue.
      Well, I shoved it in the back of the cupboard and haven’t taken it out ever since. But the style of both top and skirt would actually be fairly easy to either adjust, or if necessary add an extra piece in the side seam or something. There was a lot of fabric in that skirt I could play with. After writing that post I’m now thinking “Hmmm. How could I have fun with these silk sort-of clothes?” 🙂

      Like

  2. sewbusylizzy February 25, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    OMG! You poor thing!!! I refuse to do anything for people that involves too much stress for me. Nasty but true!
    I read this to my husband and his first comment was “$900 polyester??” so make your $80 of silk dupion look like a bargain! Ive trained him well.
    Good on you and your mum for finding a clever solution and the bride for not being too precious.

    Like

    • kaitui_kiwi February 26, 2013 at 8:44 am #

      I was thinking the exact same thing! $900 for polyester? I am glad you salvaged the situation, yay for sewing Mums 🙂

      I agree with your “wouldn’t sew stuff I didn’t like sewing” – me too. Some things are just easier (and quikcer) to buy, then I can get on with making other fabulous things myself 🙂

      Like

      • Tropical Threads February 26, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

        Well that $900 was for the entire dress, which was polyester, and had been ordered to fit their individual measurements, but they didn’t get the hems right. I honestly have no idea if that is a good amount for bridesmaids dresses made to order or not. But no one was impressed with the hems.

        Yeah, I think my mum was pretty canny. *phew*

        Like

    • Tropical Threads February 26, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      Hahahahahaha! That’s a classic! You have done well with him!
      Honestly, I couldn’t imagine paying $900 for one dress, let alone 3 of them at that price. O_O But then, I am on a Disability Pension and can sew… Even if I learnt the very hard way that pressing polyester is a whole different ballgame than pressing natural fibres *squeeks*

      Heh mum is great like that. She thinks my clothes/sewing is so creative and clever, and doesn’t seem to connect how much of those skills I got from her (She taught me to sew)
      And the bride is pretty down to earth, yep. I think she found it funny more than anything, though by the time she saw it, a solution was on the table. I’m very glad I didn’t ruin the bridal party for her!

      Like

  3. Katherine February 25, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    Oh, I can just imagine how you must have felt. Good on your Mum for coming to the rescue!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads February 26, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

      Mums are the best! I’m not sure what I would have done without her but I was feeling pretty dire…

      Like

  4. Josie Brady February 26, 2013 at 6:36 am #

    I can totally empathise with how you must have felt, but your Mum is a wonder. Couldn’t you remodel that skirt in some way. It seems a waste not to wear it.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads February 26, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

      Heh yeah, go mum! She taught me to sew. I think it shows eh?
      Well, having written all that out, and reading the comments too, it’s kinda freed my mind up to re-examine it and see what fun stuff I can do with it. I think too it helps that fashions have so changed in the 8 yrs that I could do something frilly and peplummy and retro-y and completely different to what I had intended. That was 8 1/2 yrs ago that happened.

      Like

Leave a Reply

