Camo skirt!

13 Mar


One of my TNT patterns is Simplicity 9053.  Almost all of my skirts ever since I got it have been based on this pattern, and half of my trousers. I love it!

 

Here is the latest incarnation – a camo skirt! I added a few cargo-style pockets on the side and back for good measure.

 

I’m really proud of this pocket! And you can see the purple topstitching. Well… it IS purple, honest! I wanted something contrasting but not predictable red or orange. Purple was my solution.

  • Inspiration: I was in love with the camo fabric, and wanted something less predictable than a pair of cargo-style trousers in it. A long, fairly straight skirt with side-slits to the knee is actually quite practical (though I wouldn’t want to wear it bowhunting of course!
  • Fabric/notions/trim used:

Camo-print cotton drill, plain khaki green cotton/linen from my stash for the belt. Doubled ordinary sewing thread in purple for the top-stitching. Invisible zip at back. Button and pattern from my stash. The button looked pretty boring and plain, and not the right colour (dark blue) so I dry(ish) brushed purple nail-polish over the top. Worked really well! And it survives washing just fine.

  • Construction notes:

I put the cargo pocket on the side but at the front at first. It looked really strange so I unpicked the whole lot and repositioned it evenly over the side-seam. Looked much better.

  • Cost:

2m cotton drill @ $9pm

Invisible zip @$3A

Button, thread, pattern from stash.

  • Final word:

Well, the story of this skirt didn’t have a happy ending 😦 It worked well, fitted nicely, and looked great. I got plenty of admiring comments on it when I wore it. What more could a girl want?

I’ve thought long and hard about writing the rest of the story then decided I will, because it’s not talking about these things that allows it to keep happening, leaving children so terribly vulnerable, and people in ignorance (or denial) about the impact of such abuse on the child and the adult they grow into (if they survive to adulthood and don’t commit suicide). It’s also been easier to talk about it ever since I gave evidence in the family court to make sure my much younger half-brother was kept safe from my father (I, and all the other people trying to keep him safe, succeeded, thank goodness).

Cutting a long story short, my father is a sadistic pedophile, and as a result of his severe abuse of me, I have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and am on a disability pension because of it too. He worked outside most of his life and wore army-issue style clothes for work. Mostly in khaki.

The colour of this skirt was just overall so much like my father’s standard workwear it ended up triggering me really badly. Some triggers are easy to work through. Some go really deep and are almost impossible to sort out. This colour trigger was one of the deep ones. It hasn’t ever really triggered me when I see others wearing it, and because this colour doesn’t really suit my colouring, I’ve never really worn it, but I figured in a skirt it wouldn’t matter if it didn’t suit me.

I just hadn’t realised I’d react so badly to it. *sad*but wearing it myself and seeing it every morning in my wardrobe when getting dressed was causing really bad memories to come up. I ended up deciding the kindest thing I could do for myself was to send the skirt to the op-shop and hope it finds a Forever Home with someone else who didn’t have that trigger-reaction to the colour.

It wasn’t the only piece of clothing I reacted to that way. I had some green and black gingham I was making into repro 1950’s dress in this pattern was triggering me the same.

Although the green was a nice kelly green, with the black it kinda smudged into khaki out of the corner of my eye. I did myself a favour and stopped sewing it up and sent the whole lot to the op-shop as well. I’ve got a lovely apple green with roses on it, that isn’t triggery at all. I’ll make that into the dress above instead.

10 Responses to “Camo skirt!”

  1. Josie Brady March 14, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    Sad you had to do that, but much better for your health in the long run.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads March 17, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      Yeah it is, very much so. I mean I was seeing it every single morning when I went to get dressed. I can start the day of a lot less PTSD-ed now. Yay! And I’ve got this (very very blue!) denim that would look wonderful in that pattern…

      Like

  2. Josie Brady March 14, 2013 at 4:00 am #

    PS judging by the style of the slim skirt in that pattern, it must be 59 years old!

    Like

  3. Katherine March 14, 2013 at 7:05 am #

    I’m sad to hear that you still suffer from such triggers.

    On the positive, you did a great job of that pocket, and you’ll be all set to make another in a different colour.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads March 17, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

      Realistically I’ll probably have stuff like this happen for the rest of my life. But at least once I work out a trigger, I can do something about it. And on the positive, hell yeah about that pocket! Very proud of myself. Definitely will make another pocket or ten like it sometime soon.

      Like

  4. Amanda March 14, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    I’m sorry to hear this 😦
    Focusing on the positive- that is one well constructed piece and the pocket is all kinds of rad. This pattern is demanding a remake in a sassy summer colourway with a contrasting top stitch of awesome 😀

    Like

    • Tropical Threads March 17, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Eh, yeah, it’s not fun. But I feel better for working out this colour wreaks havoc in my mind, so that’s good.

      I think you’re right about the pattern demanding a remake, and my wardrobe is demanding a replacement too. The skirt was styled on a denim skirt I had ages ago when I was tiny from being ill. And I happen to have some denim hanging out in my stash as I type… or some gorgeous white fabric, or some gorgeous blue rose print satteen or uh, yeah…
      😀

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Enough with the sewing already! | Tropical Threads - April 1, 2013

    […] Channel my inner steampunk. And as I mentioned before, I need more skirts, especially after losing this one  *ponders the picture and the pattern* Might need to be a bit fuller, which wouldn’t be […]

    Like

  2. Pink Camo Shift Dress | Tropical Threads - July 27, 2013

    […] far as camo goes, this was thankfully a much more successful garment for me than the green camo skirt. I love this dress! Cute, fits my ‘petite hourglass’ figure well (yay!) and is nice and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

