Heartwrench

11 Jun

For my 23th birthday my Granny gave me a sewing machine. Janome 18W. She wanted one that was a real solid workhorse that would not only go the distance sewing-wise, but solid enough to keep up with my, at that time, often quite transient lifestyle. And that’s what my sewing machine has been. That was 14 yrs ago.  I made her an apron as a thankyou present, blue seersucker with lovely little flowers on it, which she used when washing up each day. Then I kept going and have sewn with it most days ever since.

My Granny died 6 months later.

Last night while sewing, a whirring sound suddenly started up in the motor area. I’ve had enough experience with sewing machines and overlockers to know it was the motor. I talked to the sewing machine mechanic today and yup, the motor is going.

Which is the death-knell. Especially in a 14 yr old machine.

I’m gutted.

 

7 Responses to “Heartwrench”

  1. Catherine June 12, 2013 at 3:11 am #

    How sad 😦 it is the reason I kept my no longer working “but it was my 21st birthday present” machine in the attic for about a year before I could bring myself to get rid of it …..

    Like

    • Tropical Threads June 12, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

      Oh! heh, I was thinking the same. That just because it isn’t working properly anymore doesn’t mean I have to throw it out…

      Like

  2. Josie Brady June 12, 2013 at 3:29 am #

    (((gentle hugs))). So sorry, because it was special, and you thought of your Granny every time you used it. Nothing can replace that.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads June 12, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

      Thankyou for the hugs, Josie. Yes, I did. It was just yeah… so special.

      Like

  3. 1107nikki June 13, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    Warm fuzzies from across the ditch. I have a useless needlecase from my nan, but can I get rid of it? A sewing machine is just so much more than my needlecase. Is there anyone in blog land who knows where you can get a new motor?

    Like

  4. linda walton June 15, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    oh please don’t throw it out, could you get a second opinion? when I worked at selling s/machines this model was the one we said was heavy duty and would last forever. mine is older than yours, used often and still going strong.
    linda

    Like

  5. Deby at So Sew Easy June 18, 2013 at 6:57 am #

    So sad, that machine clearly means a lot to you. I only wish I could think of a great idea for how it could be repurposed and kept as a momento. Does it have a little part you could take out and wear as a pendant?

    Like

Leave a Reply

