Pink Camo Shift Dress

27 Jul

The friend in America that ended up with the white silk chemise had sent me this delicious pink camo cotton drill fabric as a birthday present back in March. I made it up into a shift dress using a Vogue pattern I’d found in an op-shop. The pattern required so much adjusting to my curvy shape it was no longer too appealing and I returned it to the op-shop. I like to think of it as renting from them! 50c for a few years of renting is very reasonable, don’t you think? 😀

However, sadly, it means I have no idea of the pattern number. It was shown on the pattern cover made up in a fabric with bright big yellow flowers on black. Don’t suppose that helps identify it though!

  • Fabric/trims/notions used
Pink camo cotton drill. No zip needed (I rarely need zips, I’ve found. I have very flexible shoulders and I wonder if that is why I can get into most dresses without one?)
  • Inspiration

I just wanted to try that pattern out! It had been sitting in my stash with its smooth, sophisticated (very Vogue!) pattern cover, for a couple of years. I think it works really well in this camo. Not quite so sophisticated. But then, I live in Darwin and Sophisticated has a very narrow span of use here 🙂

  • Construction notes

Fitting it to my figure was kinda crazy. It was a size too small in the bust to start with, and maybe 10 sizes (or that’s what it felt like) too small in the hips. And yes, the model the dress was shown on, on the pattern cover, had more in the line of gentle planes rather than widely-swinging curves. Shoulda taken that as a warning…

Somehow I managed to get it to work out by up-sizing the paper pattern to fit my measurements. Then, perhaps because of the relatively complicated bodice seaming – that you can barely see in camo (It is empire-lined, with waist darts and an upward-pointing V in the centre coming in between the bust,) I had to adjust the fit quite a lot when sewing it up.

Both the dress and I survived this distressing experience, and the main thing I had been worrying about – that it fit my hips and my short waist – proved to be no problem whatever. Yay! My upgrading and flat pattern fitting skillz are improving no end!

To be honest though, if I wanted a similar kind of silhouette and design line again I’d probably use the straight version of Simplicity 3673 without the belt.

It  looks like it’s already designed for a curvier, hourglassy figure. The flared version blogged about here worked so well on me, I’m pretty confident the straight one would work beautifully too.

  • Last word

As far as camo goes, this was thankfully a much more successful garment for me than the green camo skirt. I love this dress! Cute, fits my ‘petite hourglass’ figure well (yay!) and is nice and cool. This last is especially good considering Darwin is not having much in the way of actual cold weather this dry season. *scowls at the weather*

And many thanks to my friend for such a lovely birthday present 🙂

 

9 Responses to “Pink Camo Shift Dress”

  1. Josie Brady July 28, 2013 at 3:21 am #

    It must have been a challenge fitting it, but it finished up looking great. That shade of pink looks really good on you too.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads July 28, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      Hi Josie!

      Yeah there were definite moments there I wasn’t sure I could pull it off. But I managed! I was prepared to cut the bodice off and turn it into a skirt if it came down to it.

      Yep that shade of pink, and the grey, does suit me very well 🙂 My friend really picked a great fabric!

      Like

  2. Gjeometry July 30, 2013 at 4:25 am #

    It looks great on you! Good that you didn’t give up, looks like a nice staple dress you can wear even with a long sleeve top underneath.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads July 30, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      Thankyou! Sometimes I get very frustrated fitting the small waist and big hips, but when I see something like this on me, I am reminded I’ve just got an hourglass figure, and that’s ok.

      Oh well, it would be nice with a top underneath but it’s so hot here one layer is more than enough for most of the year! But good idea, yes 🙂

      Like

  3. Mary Beth August 23, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    Hi! I just found your blog through Teresa Marcio at eumoronorio.wordpress.com. Must say I love this dress, it’s perfect on you.

    Like

  4. Sofie August 24, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    Hey thanks for commenting on my blog. Keep an eye out for that fabric sale… you don’t get a lot of notice.. sometimes only a week but I always put it on my blog and you could make arrangements to come. I always leave thinking I shouldn’t have spent so much, then when I get home I think..like this time… why didn’t I buy that kelly green stretch cotton???? Dumb, dumb dumb…

    Like

  5. Zoe September 1, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    Great dress and good job persevering with the fit, it would have become an UFO that would have been left lying around for months if I had to do all that!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 1, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

      Thankyou 🙂

      Yup yup I know that path to UFO well. I’m glad I persevered!

      Like

Leave a Reply

