Tanit-Isis’s Grecian dress goes tangoing

4 Oct

A few months ago I was looking for something different to wear to tango practicas. I had 3m of blue-and-white 1″ gingham, and an afternoon. I’ve been admiring Tanitisis’s Grecian Sundress which I’d pinned on my pinterest sewing boards. There was another, similar dress I’d pinned that was basically a long rectangle with a slit for the head/neckline. I decided to go for Tanitisis‘s dress because I’ve got quite marked sloping shoulders, and I thought her dress was less likely to fall off me. And I loved the gathers across the shoulders too. I downloaded it, stuck the pattern together (I’m getting really quick at that these days!) cut the dress out and sewed it up, all in time for the Tango Practica early that evening. Pretty darned good eh?

  • Fabric/trims/notions used
cotton/polyester gingham in blue and white
  • Inspiration

I wanted something different for practising dance in, not the usual shorts and t-shirt style.

  • Construction notes

Sooooo easy. I didn’t do the shirring, I’ve never done shirring before and I didn’t want to fiddle about learning it, I just wanted the dress done. I think I’ll go back and do the shirring as I think the gathers would sit better than the lace sash I used in the photo.

The fitting for the bust was pretty genius, actually – simply make longer or shorter in the front along the shoulder edge to suit. I made mine a little bit bigger and it hung well on me, ie wasn’t pulling up at the front hem to compensate for my bust.

I love the shoulder gathering but I think I gathered mine a bit too tight. I think looser so it falls a bit further over the shoulder would look a bit better.

  • Last word

Thankyou so much for the pattern (And free too!) Tanitisis! I really appreciate the generosity of the online sewing community!

I had my camera set to take a series of photos, so here are some action shots of me trying out some Argentinian Tango ‘ochos’ in the dress. Tying the sash (first picture) isn’t part of a tango ocho, but costume adjustment form such a part of dancing I put it here anyway πŸ˜€

 

6 Responses to “Tanit-Isis’s Grecian dress goes tangoing”

  1. Tanit-Isis October 4, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    Oh, it’s lovely and summery! And looks great for dancing. I’m so glad the FBA suggestion worked out!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads October 4, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      Thankyou! And thankyou for making the pattern available. I really appreciate it πŸ™‚ Yup the FBA was such a simple thing but worked just fine. I’ll remember it in case it is useful another time.
      And yes, I’ve worn it a couple of times, it works so well for dancing!

      Like

  2. Josie Brady October 5, 2013 at 5:36 am #

    I made a dress years ago, which I still like, and wear occasionally, which basically was a rectangle, and I made the shoulder seams wide and enclosed, with ribbons inserted, so that you could adjust the shoulder gathering according to how you felt at the time. It was very functional. It would also work with the shoulder line of this dress.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads October 5, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

      I know what you mean. I thought of doing that, but I just wanted the dress finished. I wouldn’t mind going back and creating that but I think I might have zig-zaged it a whole lot and might die trying to unpick it. Clearly I need to make another dress, eh?

      πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Amanda October 7, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    Such a lovely dancing frock!

    Like

Leave a Reply

