More Burda 7109, in a slightly more orthodox form.

15 Jul

I love this pattern so much I also made the pyjamas view up.

Burda 7109 pyjamas front view, and fabric doll

I found the softest, silkiest pure cotton poplin in a fabric range called ‘spots and stripes’ from Spotlight. It made up beautifully into the jammies! Sooooo soft and gentle for sleeping in. I couldn’t bring myself to wear the shortie-shorts. I just think they’d look terrible on me, so I simply lengthened them to mid-thigh length. It worked just fine and I don’t cringe when I see myself in the mirror. Always a bonus!

The dolly is called Beckie, she’s a wood elf, and is the prototype for the pattern that mum and I used when making my daughter’s and niece’s dollies.

Burda 7109 pyjamas back

burda 7109 pyjamas and fabric doll

 

The fabric was so divinely soft, and the pattern so much fun I made up another pair, lavender purple apples (that’s a strange combination of colour and pattern, isn’t it?) I omitted the frill this time, just for a change.

burda 7109 pyjamas front view

Burda 7109 pyjamas back view

4 Responses to “More Burda 7109, in a slightly more orthodox form.”

  1. Summerflies July 15, 2014 at 4:54 pm #

    Love the pjs. That is a really cute pattern and I love cotton poplin for pjs when it is hot. I like the extended shorts (shortie shorts wouldn’t look good on me either). How funny that your shower cap was the same fabric as mine. I also bought it half price but it was $24 per metre so I guess that is the extra added on for being so far from their distribution centre? I bought 2 metres to make a short raglan sleeve jacket with a hood as a rain jacket but yeah on the back burner. I need to make the shower cap elastic a little looser I think but basically I made it the same way.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads July 15, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

      It is a cute pattern, isn’t it 🙂

      I saw the showercap fabric for $24 at full price later. So perhaps 2 yrs ago it was more expensive than it is now? It was very new, back then. Our prices don’t usually differ from southern Spotlights, though our range does. Thankfully head office eventually figured out that heavy wools and polar fleeces don’t sell well up here, but cottons and linens always do.
      I’ll be interested to see the rain jacket when done. In that fabric it would be quite sweet, I think, especially with a hood. I thought of doing similar, but to be honest, no one wears raincoats here. An extra layer just holds in extra heat. Also you don’t get cold when rained upon, you just get … wet…! It’s really common to end up soaked to the skin. Most people just offer you a towel to dry off with. No worries!
      So yeah, when/if you do get the rain jacket done I’d love to see it, and dream of needing one like it!

      Like

  2. bimbleandpimble July 17, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

    Lady, you are queen of the jimjams!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads July 18, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

      I am aren’t I 😀 They’re so much fun, and good for lounging round the house too. Always a good thing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

