McCalls 6470 or: a matter of proportion?

28 Jul

I made McCalls 6470 up in a soft craft cotton. The pattern looks designed for a more flowing fabric, like a satin, say. But it worked fine, I think.

McCall's 6470

I got mum to take some photos. She hates taking photos, but I batted my lashes nicely and she did it for me. Aw! The things mothers do for their children! (Thanks mum!) I took a look at the resulting photo (I only get one chance. She doesn’t do repeat shots! so you get a silly expression coz mum had said something that made me laugh.)

Anyway, photo. I was like … what happened??? I look like I have a ‘triangle’ figure instead of my actual hourglass one. Huh???

 

Was it the belt? Was it the fact that there is a huge amount of fabric around the shoulders and bust in this pattern, that then narrows to the hips?

Or is it that I used a soft craft cotton that stands out more than the slithery drapy satin reccomended would have?

Or is this just how I look in a straight skirt and I’m not used to it coz I hardly ever wear straight skirts?

Here’s the back shot. Again I think it’s top-heavy.

So I went experimenting on my own, inside, with some mirror-selfies. I apologise for the crap photos. I know my photos aren’t usually that great anyway, but my new phone’s photo capacity is really lousy. *facepalm*

Back to the proportions, here is the outfit without the belt. I think it does seem more balanced top and bottom. Funny a belt round the waist changes the emphasis so much.

With both the skirt and the top shortened, (below) I still think it’s more top-heavy, though the width of my thighs revealed by the top’s higher hem balance it a bit. Or maybe it just makes me look chunky all over? O_o

And with something entirely different – bloomers inspired by these from Phonograph Fashions made with my TNT retro jammies pattern, burda 7109 (I just want to buy that entire shop out, to be honest!)

Hmmm. Still emphasises the top, but the bloomers help balance the bottom a bit.

 

Yup, that’s definitely making me look broad across the shoulders. Gosh, IS it possible to look like I have (relatively) slim hips??? I wouldn’t know myself if that happened too often!

After all that experimentation and photography, the conclusion I’ve come to is that it does bring quite an emphasis to the shoulders. Or I could just be seeing things that aren’t there.

What do you guys think?

6 Responses to “McCalls 6470 or: a matter of proportion?”

  1. Josie Brady July 29, 2014 at 7:08 am #

    If you could be bothered to take some of the fullness out of it, particularly at the back it would look more flattering. There is also something about the fullness of the sleeves that makes you look much larger than you are. However, it will be cool to wear, which is why you selected that pattern I suspect. You could always wear it as the top half of shortie pyjamas. I agree with you that it would be better made from a heavier and more slithery type of fabric. The colour of the fabric is very flattering to your skin tone. The top, made in a vertically striped fabric would probably look better.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads August 5, 2014 at 12:00 pm #

      I agree with you about the fullness. The neckline is very low, so I had to take it up at the shoulders a few inches to stay legal. Instead of cutting out the extra fabric around the shoulders and back, I just kinda pleated it all in. Next time I’ll definitely take the excess out. (And there WILL be a next time. I love it!)
      Yep the pattern would lend itself to being the top of shortie pyjamas or even a nightie. The shape of the neckline, and the fabric in the sleeves makes it very comfortable to move in.
      I do really love this top 🙂 It’s on high rotation in my wardrobe! And I’m currently looking round for a more slithery fabric to make it again.

      Like

  2. Katherine July 29, 2014 at 2:34 pm #

    I think perhaps it was the camera angle (shot from above in the first photos) and maybe your over-analysis?? The proportions look fine to me.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads August 5, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

      I’m glad to hear that, given I adore this top and wear it a lot. I did take a few shots from a lower camera angle to see if it was that, and it didn’t look any different. (And the photos were blurry so I didn’t put them up here.) As for over-analysis, I think my mother misnamed me -I think that might be my middle name 😛
      I think most of it is just I so rarely wear straight skirts I wasn’t used to how they look.

      Like

  3. Audrey August 4, 2014 at 12:46 am #

    I am not seeing top heavy. Hourglass is what I see, especially in the photo taken by your mom. I love the look of the top belted over the lace skirt. Maybe you are inadvertently focusing in on the top when you look at a photo. I bet If you laid a piece of paper over the picture on the computer screen and gently traced around your body shape, you would see hour glass.

    I think it is a really cute top and it looks like it could be worn with a bunch of other garments you have in your wardrobe

    Like

    • Tropical Threads August 5, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

      Thankyou! It’s good to hear that because I love this top very much and am always wearing it. I think what happened is I don’t usually wear straight skirts, so it all looked completely different to me.
      And yes, it works very well in my wardrobe. That’s always a great thing isn’t it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

