Swirl dress!

1 Dec

Here’s the swirl dress I’ve sewn as part of a sewalong I’ve referred to a couple of times, held by the talented and awesome Sew Retro Rose.

Here I tried the classic pin-up girl pose so commonly seen on sewing and fashion blogs; I think mine needs some work. But it probably won’t get worked on as in taking this photo, the whole ‘pin-up’ women as sexual images for men’s consumption thing did upsetting things to my head. (Hence the rather unsure smirk on my face.)

Moving on to happier thoughts, the front trim for the original pattern stopped at the shoulders. Since I’m not really into coffin dresses, I continued it round the back and down to the waist. A word on the fit of the back, shown below, I think it’s about as good as I can get it until I learn how to fit it more effectively. Due to the wrap-over part it was much harder to work out how or where to take the extra length up, so I just took it off at the waist. It’s good enough.

I love the effect of the bias-cut back skirt that is subtly observable in gingham. The front is on the straight grain, and the back is a semi-circle so curves from straight at the sides to the bias as the edge of the wrap. I love it!

You know, I’m not sure if I was just standing oddly, or not, but in this photo I look like I really do have a sway back. I never thought I did, just that I had a very short back. I should keep an eye out for it to see if that is my natural posture or not.

The side view, for what I can learn about fitting:

  • Perhaps my FBA wasn’t big enough? There’s more differentiation between front length and back length in my body than there is in the dress. Or perhaps it’s being distorted by catching under the arms?
  • The back’s too long but we knew that already 😛
  • It’s also too wide across the shoulders, so it’s catching under the arms when I have my arms forwards, rather than falling away from my arms smoothly like it would if properly fitted across there. I’ll take it in. The skirt’s fine though.

In this photo I don’t look at all like I have a sway back.

See the wavy hem? In the hopes it might flair the skirt in a suitably vintage manner, I put some horsehair braid from my stash in the hem. First time I’ve ever used it, and I’ll definitely use it again, it helped sew the hem really easily and with no warping of fabric as I went round the bias parts of the hem. Awesome!

However, the poor braid had been stored in a nice neat oval-shaped roll for so long, when unrolled and put into the hem, it still held the curves of the roll. I am very sure all I need to do is press it on a suitably low temperature to straighten it out, but I didn’t have time before these photos.

I’ve since washed the dress, (the braid handled being through a normal wash cycle perfectly), but it still causes the waves shown above! So I definitely need to get in there and press it properly flat.

The hair kerchief is one I made years and years ago, blue roses on a yellow background, with toning blue ric rac trim round the edge, all in one of my favourite colour schemes, baby blue and soft yellow. Like the dress! A happy accident that the two matched 🙂

2 Responses to “Swirl dress!”

  1. Lyric December 5, 2014 at 2:57 am #

    I’ve gotta try that pin-up girl pose thingy. The thing is on our, ahem, “farm” there is no nice background scenery (whining). My hope is someday, in my sewing trailer, to hang white fabric on one wall (perhaps the wall behind where my someday mannequin will reside, and that will be my go-to pose wall also.

    Glad I found your blog, Chica. Looking forward to all our sewist shenanigans that are most def forth coming.

    Cheers,

    Lyric (a.k.a. Siobhan)
    http://www.sewlyricallyvintage.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Tropical Threads December 5, 2014 at 11:53 am #

      Yeah the pin-up girl pose looks nice, and does nice things to your figure, but I don’t think it’s for me. I did years of ballet and my body falls far more naturally into a ballet-style pose than a pin-up one. But hey, each to their own 🙂

      Yup yup I’ve seen people do that, like have a nice fabric especially for say hanging in front of their curtains or cupboard, and take their photos there. I’ve even seen people do tutes on it, though that strikes me as unnecessary unless you have no imagination 😛

      What’s your ‘Farm’ like? no nice scenery?that sounds very sad 😦

      Yeah I’m glad I’ve found your blog too! Much happy sewing fun ahead!

      Like

Leave a Reply

