Eulogy for a sewing companion

17 Sep

4 weeks ago today I lost my beloved HattieCattie. For almost 15 1/2 yrs she ruled my life with an iron paw only sometimes wrapped in velvet. I loved her so much.

From the very first day she graced my life, she was as fascinated and involved in sewing as I am. Countless hours sewing with her help, countless kilometres of seams supervised by her soon-competent eye. So many flimsy paper patterns strategically ripped and chewed to reflect her discerning style.

I had so much planned to write about her. How startlingly, unexpectedly graceful she grew from such a scruffy scrap of kittenhood. Explain how her (often scary, frequently blood-drawing) iron paw never once made me love her less. How I honestly don’t know how I would have gotten through the worst of the Post Traumatic Stress Disorder without her purrs and love. But I can’t write … the words are starting to swim on the screen.

HattieCattie, I love you so so so much.

16 Responses to “Eulogy for a sewing companion”

  1. Laura Rittenhouse September 17, 2015 at 1:17 pm #

    Oh, I know how hard this must be. I had cats and dogs in my youth and avoided them in my adult hood because (amongst their demands on my time) of how hard it is to lose a much-loved pet. I now have a cat with an iron-paw (and a sharp one at that) and a dog with a wet tongue and I can’t imagine losing either of them. I keep telling myself to enjoy them while I have them and I know you did HattieCattie. All we can do is spoil them with our love while they’re here. I’m sure HattieCattie felt loved and loved you right back!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 19, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

      Yes it’s been very very hard. And then just as I think I’m getting over the worst, something reminds me of her, or I think I hear her meow, or see her in the shadows. Eh. I’ll get there, I know.

      I did love her as much as I could and enjoyed her while I had her. I found that some compensation when I’ve lost other pets, but I’m having to work on that with Madame Hat 😦

      Thanks for sharing, everyone’s been so kind. I guess so many, like you, have been through it themselves.

      Like

  2. bimbleandpimble September 17, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

    Oh, I am so sorry for the loss of your dear sewing companion and furry family member. Sending good vibes your way xx

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 19, 2015 at 7:29 pm #

      Thanks Amanda. She’s left a huge hole in my heart, my life and the household. And I have no idea what seam to sew next without her expert supervision!

      Like

  3. Josie Brady September 18, 2015 at 7:42 am #

    That was an eloquent tribute to your beloved Hattie Cattie, who was so helpful with her contribution to your sewing efforts.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 19, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

      Thankyou Auntie Josie. It’s been so hard, but I know you know what I’m going through.

      I’m at a loss as to what seam to sew next without her. And cutting out garments seems way to easy without her helping me scrunch the fabric up that I’ve just gotten straight.

      Like

  4. Becky September 19, 2015 at 1:41 am #

    I’m so sorry. It’s hard to lose a pet, especially one that’s been part of your life for so long.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 19, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

      Thankyou Becky, yes it’s been so terribly hard 😦

      Like

      • francescapia September 20, 2015 at 8:11 pm #

        Oh, this made me weep when I read it, and again when I tried to give you my sympathy, and now my tablet is getting rained on. I feel for you. Huge loss. Right now one of mine is washing against my leg, I love her and Percy so much, but at Christmas my Mehi left me at almost 22. She was my sewing companion too. Helped me survive moving to another country, etc etc. I will never forget her. I’ve lived with so many animals but some get even deeper into your heart. Keep a pic of her near you and don’t try to not think about her – you are lucky to have the memories – it will get better. Sometimes you will weep but sometimes you will smile, and feel blessdd for having had her. I still feel Mehi near me – you will feel Hattie Cattie too. Hugs….

        Like

      • Tropical Threads November 1, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

        Hi Francesca, I only just saw your comment – I wasn’t in any great state to keep on top of things blogwise after posting this 😦
        Thankyou so much for your sympathy. It means a great deal. Maybe the rain on your tablet was crying for my loss too!
        22 years is such a long time, it must have taken you a long time to recover some equilibrium after losing her too.
        It’s taken over a year but now I’m able to think of her sometimes with happiness that I got to have so long with her. It’s slowly getting more that way and less with the intense pain. But any pictures of her can hurt badly.
        I have one of on my dresser that sometimes it laid face down and sometimes standing up. More standing up than laid down these days. Slowly.
        Did you see my post about my new sewing companion Ma’at? She’s been such a great tonic, and now at 18 months is (sort-of) maturing (slowly!) into quite a strong character herself. Totally different to Hattie, which I’m glad for. She can’t be replaced. Neither can Ma’at now, either.

        https://tropicalthreads.wordpress.com/2016/10/01/my-new-sewing-companion/

        Again, thankyou…

        Like

  5. J November 1, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

    Although my cats are just eight months old and will spend many years with me, it is odd, but I can almost feel your pain. I’d be devastated when they’re gone.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads November 1, 2016 at 10:25 pm #

      Hello, J, thankyou so much for your understanding comments. The thought of your cats and the many years you have with them ahead makes me smile. I’ve got a new sewing companion now, she can never replace my Hattie, but she is irreplaceable in her own right, ever since she sat on my foot and fell asleep on it, at the animal shelter 15 months ago!
      https://tropicalthreads.wordpress.com/2016/10/01/my-new-sewing-companion/

      Thanks again…

      Like

      • J November 1, 2016 at 10:29 pm #

        Yes, I already read the post. And she looks like my cat Mimi. I wish you two long and wonderful years of sewing together.

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peasant dresses from Butterick 5130 | Tropical Threads - May 5, 2016

    […] have a few makes from last year I haven’t blogged about. All the oomph went out of me when my beloved sewing companion HattieCattie died last year. It didn’t help that she’s all through my sewing pictures, making it […]

    Like

  2. My new sewing companion | Tropical Threads - October 1, 2016

    […] a year ago I lost my sewing companion and bestest friend of 15 1/2 […]

    Like

  3. No day without a line | Tropical Threads - November 9, 2016

    […] this year that the sewing blogging’s fallen by the wayside, especially with the grief of losing Hattie and the strong association she had with my sewing blogging. You know, it’s been over a year, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

