A few clothes from way back when…

30 Sep

Going through my photos the other day, I found some from the first digital camera I ever had. I’d gone through the clothes I owned and photographed them with it. So easy! So cheap compared to film cameras! Such lousy quality compared to digital cameras nowadays!

 

Just for fun here are some of them…

 

Top: op-shop

Skirt: bottom part of a Donna Karen Vogue 1634 from an op-shop

I’ve still got this skirt, though these photos were taken ten years ago. Every so often I put it away, sick of it. I mean it IS lasting forever! (Linen-rayon blend from Spotlight, for the curious.) Then every so often I dig it out again and wear it. It’s hanging in my wardrobe as I type, last worn two weeks ago.

It started life as the actual dress. The pattern calls for a knit, but my fabric was a woven with a bit of stretch, which worked just fine. However the dress never seemed to get worn in spite of the beautiful fabric (that pattern is embroidered on). Too short? not right in the shoulders? I could never work it out. It worked much better as a skirt. Please also adore my black tango dancing shoes. So beautiful.

I loved it as a skirt so much I made another one, out of a ‘shot’ cotton fabric also from Spotlight (Most of my fabric was in those days. Buying fabric online was still in its infancy, so it was either Spotlight or nabbed when fabric-shopping on a trip down south.) I love love love shot fabric. It gives even the most humble of cottons a luxurious sheen as you move. For the record I made another skirt in this pattern out of a forest green rayon faille, that was just as well-loved and beautiful as these two skirts.

The last bellydancing performance I did, I made this outfit up for myself. All stuff from Spotlight ๐Ÿ˜› I think I’m trying to rearrange my hold on the veil, using my mouth, hence the slightly odd pose! I know the skirt was circular and the veil semicircular, the hip scarf had a nice curved hem edged with a silver fringe, but I’ve no idea what pattern I used for the t-shirt!

Another garment that got a facelift. I found this gorgeous blue china style of fabric on trip to Melboure. I made it into these long trousers in the pattern shown below it, one of my TNT patterns from waaaay back (early 1990s and still using it!) I promptly got ill and shrank out of them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It sat around forever teasing me with its prettiness and too-hot-to-wearedness (due to the full length of the trousers. I never learn…). Last year sometime I refitted them and turned them into shorts I now wear often. (The top is an op-shop top. Looks like I was falling out of it :-D)

I think this was the first, or perhaps second pinafore dress I made out of the pattern shown below. It’s quick, it’s easy, it looks great and if I wear it with a sleeveless top, it’s surprisingly cool. I have lost count of how many I’ve made now. Over 5 at least! This one was in a beautiful linen.

There are so many more clothes I have pictures of. It’s been a nice trip down memory lane. I’ll do another post like this sometime …

2 Responses to “A few clothes from way back when…”

  1. Summerflies September 30, 2015 at 4:38 pm #

    I love your look back. I think you look fantastic in the pinafore… I had one I loved (rtw) that was cross at the back but a wrap back skirt. I have a few patterns i will try to replicate it. You look so gorgeous in yours. Nice to see you back.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads September 30, 2015 at 7:48 pm #

      Thankyou! Yes I LOVE that pinafore pattern ๐Ÿ™‚ A wrap-back skirt pinafore sounds really nice too. I like back-wrap things.
      And thankyou about being back ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

