A sort of copy…

18 Jan

So wearable though! Which was the bit I was trying to copy the most. The result:

The inspiration. Doesn’t it look just so wearable?

new ivy style linen dress:

I pleated the neckline up on my dress from memory. The results were 3 big pleats instead of many small ones. (As you can tell I’m hopeless at taking selfies – I hardly ever take them.)

I love the back.

I am most pleased with my dress. It’s made with beautiful, thick but very breathable heavy linen that just falls and falls and falls. Mmmm! A $5pm special from Spotlight I’ve forgotten how long ago. Looking at that inspiration picture though I suddenly have the urge to dye it charcoal. uh… Let’s move on from that thought, shall we? (thinking of the yellow polyester thread I used to stopstitch. Hey hang on! That could look awesome! Uh….)

I know I know I’m sidetracking myself. Right, so the Important Stuff.

  1. It’s very wearable.
  2. It’s made using this TNT pattern, McCalls 8108. Lost count how many times I’ve used this pattern and how many variations I’ve made from it.
  3. I put little cap sleeves on to keep the sun from burning my shoulders.
  4. Mum’s observation on the dress was ‘It’s very loose…’ Which I think was her polite way of saying it’s rather sacklike. Yup mum! That’s what I was after. I made it at the beginning of the build-up (our hottest, humidest, yukkiest time of year, Oct/Nov) and have worn it and worn it and worn it.
  5. Technically it looks lovely with a belt, especially a mid-blue thin belt I found in an op shop a while back. But that adds degrees of heat to the dress so I never actually do wear the belt. And certainly wasn’t going to stand outside in the heat getting photos taken of me wearing this dress with a hot belt on. Nope. No way!

Alterations to the pattern were simple. I cut both front and back out with an extra 20cm or so added along centre front/centre back. I did the same with the facings, then sewed it up into a very wide dress, then pleated the front and back neckline back the normal width of the dress and sewed the pleats down about an inch from the neckline edging. Then wore it and wore it and wore it. You get the idea ;-P

I really do think it would look great overdyed with charcoal…

 

4 Responses to “A sort of copy…”

  1. Josie Brady January 19, 2016 at 5:18 am #

    It is very nice as it is, and you like paisley, so why consider dyeing it charcoal, and losing the pattern.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads January 19, 2016 at 1:15 pm #

      Ah! because the grass is greener on the other side ;-D (I don’t think I actually WILL dye it charcoal, not least because I don’t have charcoal dye. And you’re right, it’s lovely fabric as it is 🙂

      Like

  2. Summerflies January 19, 2016 at 8:47 am #

    Oh it looks terrific. I like the idea of charcoal but would you lose the lovely print… why not make a charcoal version too. I really like this and have that pattern (since it originally came out (in the ’70’s or early ’80’s ). I have some nice plain linen I should just do it!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads January 19, 2016 at 1:17 pm #

      Thankyou! I do love wearing it. And your idea of making a charcoal one as well is by far the best solution. I do really like that print, especially the colours in it.
      Hey you have that pattern too? I think I bought mine … late-90s perhaps. It’s a real workhorse. And so versatile and easy to adapt. Yes go for it! Then blog about it so I can see the results 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

