Yeah I’m repetitive, I know, or: Another Burda 7109 make

19 Feb

Another nightie-pattern make.

Well you see, I saw this apron on pinterest (you know how it goes ;-P)

Shabby Chic

And I wanted one of my own! But I never wear aprons, and if I ever do I already have two very pretty (and practical) ones. Dresses on the other hand? Especially cool and flaringy dresses, I wear a lot. The higher the humidity, the more likely I’m in a dress.

Try as I might I couldn’t find a floral fabric similar, so I went for a totally different rose print, a bright cotton-lycra sateen rose print in many colours that my dear friend Kathy gifted men. Mmm! I had planned to make the fabric into a fit-and-flare dresss but never got round to it, not least coz there wasn’t enough fabric. Where was my brain when Kath asked me how much I needed? There was, happily, enough to make an apron-dress.

This photo doesn’t show the shape too well so you’ll have to take my word for it that it’s shaped like the apron I found on Pinterest.

I even curved the hemline like the apron.

My interpretation of what an apron-dress’s back should be. I would have added more fabric to the back pleat by choice but didn’t have enough fabric. Oh well…

All this from my great fave nightie pattern, Retro repro burda 7109, which is a great trapeze shift dress when it’s not being a nightie 🙂

6 Responses to “Yeah I’m repetitive, I know, or: Another Burda 7109 make”

  1. Summerflies February 19, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

    That fabric is gorgeous…much nicer than the inspiration fabric IMHO. I think the colours suit you so nicely and I think you’ve done a great job making a cool dress!

    Like

    • Tropical Threads February 22, 2016 at 10:26 pm #

      LOL yeah I must say although I rather like the shabby chic look, wearing that kind of thing can be a bit too tame for me. I think I’m happier in my fabric 🙂 Thankyou!

      Like

  2. katherine February 20, 2016 at 8:32 am #

    Such a bright and happy make! Enjoy wearing this, it looks lovely and cool.

    Like

  3. Josie Brady February 22, 2016 at 3:50 pm #

    It looks beautifully cool, and the fabric is gorgeous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

