Peasant dresses from Butterick 5130

5 May

I have a few makes from last year I haven’t blogged about. All the oomph went out of me when my beloved sewing companion HattieCattie died last year. It didn’t help that she’s all through my sewing pictures, making it painful to look through them.

Anyway, having recovered some of that oomph … years ago I made up the Butterick 5130 pattern (for knits).

,

I loved the dress and wore it to death, even though I was never greatly taken with the elastic halfway across the bust and back. It left me wondering kind of like er, why put them there???
So for last year’s version I simply eliminated that seam/elastic casing and created a simple empire-line peasant dress.

This would have worked well if the light knit rayon I used hadn’t been so thin you could see my bra underneath it (more obviously so in reality than in this picture), made worse by the weight of the dress dragging things down.

But the general idea of eliminating that seam worked well, so I redid the dress in a woven craft cotton. I measured the pattern before I cut it to make sure it would fit round me without needing stretch. It worked well apart from the sleeves being a tad too tight, but not unwearably so. (Look at the different lengths of my hair! One photo taken at the beginning of last year and the other taken at the end of last year 😀 That’s a lot of added length for curly hair!)

I adjusted the sleeves and tried the new pattern out on a top. It is very comfortable now. I’ve since made another dress based on the pattern, too, but I lowered the under bust elastic to the true waist. I’ll have to blog about them both soon 🙂

This pattern is a lot nicer than the pattern picture indicates, for the record!

Butterick 5130

8 Responses to “Peasant dresses from Butterick 5130”

  1. francescapia May 6, 2016 at 3:07 am #

    Such cute dresses!
    I totally get you. My darling Mehi died almost 2 years ago and I was devastated. Still see her shadow and miss her madly even though I have 2 other brat cats… hugs of sympathy

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 6, 2016 at 10:25 pm #

      Thankyou 🙂 I wore the woven purple patterned one today, it’s so comfortable, too!
      Gah, it’s hard to lose them isn’t it 😦 though I’m glad you have more feline loves in your life…
      My sweet cat Ma’at who took me on as Her Human not long after Hattie died, is a huge personality in her own right, which I’m loving. But I do still miss Madam Hat so badly.

      Like

  2. Summerflies May 6, 2016 at 12:13 pm #

    I love peasant tops and dresses and yours are gorgeous. They are also so quick to make! I think you have done a great job of making it empire line. Love them.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 6, 2016 at 10:26 pm #

      Thankyou! And yes they are, aren’t they. And the pattern I made up is proving so versatile too, which is always nice. I’ll have to blog about the true waistline one soon, too.

      Like

  3. josie brady May 8, 2016 at 8:15 am #

    Both dresses are very nice, but the black one is a bit long. The second one works better. It is a very comfortable style for a hot climate. I suspect you will be making a third before long.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads May 9, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

      It’s purple, not black 🙂 but yes it was a bit long. I ended up sending it to the op shop coz it just wasn’t working. It IS so nice for Darwin, I’m sure I will be making more, yes! It’s nice to have such a simple pattern that’s so easy to make and so nice to wear.

      Like

  4. Kbenco May 9, 2016 at 7:23 am #

    These dresses all look so pretty and cool to wear. You’ve done a great job in adapting the pattern to a woven.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tropical Threads May 9, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

      Yep, I’ve definitely managed to create a great mix of pretty, good pattern and very appropriate for my climate. I actually find wovens are usually cooler as they are less clingy, too.

      By the way, I still read your blog and enjoy it but I find commenting on blogspot patterns to be quite randomly difficult at times. No idea why.

      Like

Leave a Reply

