My new sewing companion

1 Oct

Almost a year ago I lost my sewing companion and bestest friend of 15 1/2 yrs.

It killed my blogging mojo, not least because so many of my sewing photos starred Madame Hat. Or simply just reminded me of her. It’s been a painful year where my heart is concerned. I’ve missed her terribly. I will for a long long time to come. Her pawprint on my heart and my life was huge.

Within a few weeks of losing Hattie another feline took over my life. The vet said this was normal – people who lose a loved pet usually get another one within 3 weeks. Seriously? Yes, apparently.

‘Im takin over ur chairz and ur hartz!’

I went to the RSPCA animal shelter about 2 weeks after Hattie died, to simply pat the cats there, to remind myself there were other cats in the world even if my heart was far too sore to contemplate a new feline companion.

But you see, we have a rowdy dog who believed cats are Things To Chase (Hattie loved this. An excuse to bash up something!) Any cat that can handle such a dog has to have a certain aplomb … And at the shelter a tiny grey and apricot kitten unceremoniously pushed her bigger brothers away from the food bowl and devoured it all herself. Then she then curled up on my foot and fell asleep.

Of course I had to take her home!

I picked her up off my foot, snuggled her close and asked if she’d like to come home with me and be my new Sewing Companion. She purred.

Was this a yes or no?

The shelter worker assured me the kitten’s ambivalence was simply because she didn’t know what a Sewing Companion was, but was confident she’d soon figure it out.

I named my new little overlord Ma’at, in the family tradition of giving cats Egyptian names.

Ma’at’s baby photo (Don’t mind the butterfly decal on the mirror!)

Her first forays into sewing companionedness was batting bobbins around. Then thread reels. Then unpickers. Then more thread.

Then it evolved into playing with all my sewing things – after tossing them all onto the floor.

She soon discovered the joy of pulling the pins out of my pin-cushion with her teeth and tossing them on the floor too. So the pins now live safely locked away in a tin container…

Eventually she got the right idea. Here she is practising being a pattern weight on the thick paper I draft patterns on. She has since successfully graduated to  ripping weighing down delicate pattern tissue paper over 40 yrs old.

Here she has mastered the art of adorning fabric to enhance it’s beauty.

Here her head has fallen off the board while she’s fast asleep, bringing a new twist to the Essential Sewing Companion Skill of sleeping on the ironing board.

And the most important sewing companion duty of all, photo-bombing my sewing pictures. Most photos show her blurred because unless fast asleep she’s perpetually in motion – invariably up to some mischief. (Another nightie, from Micheal Miller flower fairies, using Simplicity 1898)

Miss Ma’at’s chosen chair is the sewing chair. When I want to use it she refuses to relinquish it.

She’s also become a rather good ballet dancer, having been taking lessons with me for almost a year now.

After Madame Hat’s iron paw,  you might think life with such a little cutie is easier. No. She’s a real handful. As my mum put it ‘A little cat with a huge personality’. (She’s never grown very big). She’s a larrikin – a HUGE larrikin in an itty bitty cat-shaped body. She’s so inquisitive and interactive that, combined with the larrikin attitude, she’s always in some misadventure or other. She’s almost a year and a half old now, yet the misadventures still come as thick and fast as they did the day I brought her 3 month old self home.

So much so I’ve come to realise that Ma’at is not named after the ancient Egyptian goddess of truth and justice. It is, in fact a contraction of the name ‘Mad Cat’ 😀

8 Responses to “My new sewing companion”

  1. Josie Brady October 3, 2016 at 7:41 am #

    Very entertaining. I love the new nighty, very pretty.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads October 3, 2016 at 12:27 pm #

      Hehe, anything to do with Ma’at usually is *grins*

      Thankyou, it’s very pretty! I adore flower fairies, in case you hadn’t worked that out yet ;-P And the blues are so lovely in the print 🙂

      Like

  2. bimbleandpimble October 3, 2016 at 5:23 pm #

    What a gorgeous addition to your family 😀 Ma’at looks like she is equal parts mischief and love 😀

    Like

  3. Summerflies October 7, 2016 at 5:29 pm #

    Oh that photo asleep on the ironing board LOL! I am NOT showing that to my son… he desperately wants a cat. I love the new nightie – it’s so cute.. and I don’t usually like fairies (for me) but they are really pretty.

    Like

    • Tropical Threads October 7, 2016 at 7:38 pm #

      I know. She’s a very funny cat. In a very silly way. And so small physically!

      Thankyou 🙂 I loves me my flower fairies 🙂

      Like

  4. Anarette November 29, 2016 at 9:14 am #

    Adorable! What a bundle of love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

