Enjoying myself with dance clothes sewing

10 Jan

I taught ballet to adults in 2016. Of course, one must have the Perfect Work Wardrobe, so I sewed quite a few dance clothes. Of course.

It started well. In March I headed down to Brisbane for training to instruct Barre Attack (A combination of ballet, pilates and fitness). I also checked out a few fabric stores. Of course. I found some great quality lycras – two blues and a grey (not pictured), and some red floral lightweight polyester.

 

I went for some chiffons, too.

The darker blue lycra promptly got sewn up into a pair of shorty-harem pants I wear for pilates and teaching ballet. I used my trusty stretch-knit yoga pants pattern, which is figure-hugging. I just widened the shorts-bit, gathered it onto the pattern’s normal waistband, and gathered the legs onto a leg-band I created.

I made up the red floral and purple floral, and some black chiffon in my stash, into babuchas similar to these below. (No photo of mine, found on pinterest).

Sadly though, they were terrible for teaching (or dancing) ballet in. I was landing from a pirouette while wearing a pair and my toe got caught in the gathered fabric where it joins the band. eeek. Almost fell 😦 So I stuffed all three of them into the back of the wardrobe where all my tango gear hides. Maybe one day I’ll have the health to get back into tango, but for the moment I really just have to focus on ballet.

Argentine Tango Babucha Pants with side slits - "Flowers":

My next project was to use that gorgeous purple chiffon to make something like shown below. For teaching, you understand. For teaching!

The Look: pointe:

Sadly, see the result, below. (sans straps, I didn’t bother with them, they weren’t going to save the dress.

 

Don’t they all look so lovely here?

What went wrong? the pattern was shite. I played it safe by using a commercial simplicity pattern of adult tutus. A sheath with elastic above and below the bust, with gathered elastic shoulder straps in a revoltingly unflattering way. What was I thinking??? Oh yeah that’s right. For teaching. The chiffon is too see-through as well. Or I needed ten layers of it, as it looks to be in the Inspiration Dress.

I still want to have a dress like this, but I’ll design it myself using my peasant top/dress pattern.

Stay tuned for part 2 of my sewing adventures!

 

Leave a Reply

